📢 On this page, you'll find the latest Activate features and updates released by date. Reach out to your Customer Success Manager if you have questions.
October 9, 2023
A Better User Experience with a New User & System Management
We’re moving the existing User and System Management capability in Activate to a new, centralized location under the Setup navigation. Now, you’ll be able to change roles, add users, remove users, and edit permissions all in the User Management Portal.
The move will not affect any core functionality, existing permissions, or roles within Activate.
Relocating this function to a more centralized location under the Setup navigation will provide a more intuitive user experience, saving you time when adjusting User Settings.
Old Location of User Management
New Location of User Management
From the User Management Portal, you will be able to invite users and manage their permission groups (whether they are Admin, Standard, or Non-Team Members).
Additionally, only users belonging to the Management Portal and “SysAdmin” group will be able to manage users.
Control Access with the New Process for Granting Temporary Access Requests
Soon you’ll be able to grant KORE employees (i.e., Customer Success Manager, Support, KPI) temporary access (48 hours) to your Activate environment to diagnose/debug reported issues or perform application configurations.
We developed this tool to give you control over who has access to your Activate environment, making it trackable and keeping it secure.
How will the new request process work?
1. [KORE] Employee submits a request to access your Activate environment.
2. [CUSTOMER] All users designated as Admins for your organization receive an email notification of the request with a link to review the request in the Management Portal.
3. [CUSTOMER] The Admin reviews the request and either approves or denies it.
a. If approved, the KORE employee receives an email notification and gains 48-hour access to your environment.
b. If declined, the KORE employee is notified via email and does not gain access.
4. [Customer] If a request is approved, the KORE employee will show up in the “User” list with a “Temp Access” status. Once their access expires, they will no longer appear in the User list.
5. [KORE] After 48 hours, the KORE employee loses access to your environment.
6. [KORE] Pending requests are only valid for 72 hours. If a request expires before it is approved or denied, the KORE employee must submit another request.
Are there exceptions to the request process?
KORE’s Support and KPI groups do not require approval to gain temporary access. This will ensure that any of your necessary and urgent support requests are not slowed down. They will still submit requests through the process, but their requests will be automatically approved. Both groups will also only have access for 48 hours and will show up on the User list as “Temp Access”.
Do I have to review every request?
There are two alternatives to having to review and approve requests.
1. Your KORE Customer Success Manager can be added as an Admin to review Temporary Access Requests on your behalf.
2. There is a configuration option that allows all Temporary Access Requests to be automatically approved.
Will this new tool & process be available for other KORE products?
Coming next, KORE’s Evaluate and Helix products will also support the new Temporary Access tool and process.
January 16, 2024
Email Notifications Added to Tasks & Once Assets Are Delivered
Members will now receive an email notification when:
- They are added to a task or when a task they are a member of is updated.
- All asset information is added after an asset is delivered.
January 23, 2024
Streamline the Process of Authorizing and Managing User Access with New Custom User Groups and Permissions
With the new Custom User Groups and Permissions feature, admin users can create custom groups and permissions in the Management Portal.
A common use case is providing C-Suite and Stakeholders access to only view deals belonging to a specific deal type. Using the Management Portal, create a new custom group that includes all C-Suite and Stakeholders and adjust their access to deals. Then, in the Permissions tab under Setup, assign them custom permissions to only be able to view those deal types.
Creating custom groups with individual sets of permissions offers several benefits:
- Access Control: Fine-tune access control based on roles and responsibilities. This ensures that users only have access to the specific features and data necessary for their tasks, enhancing security.
- Data Protection: By assigning permissions at a granular level, organizations can safeguard sensitive information. Enable a more targeted approach to data protection, reducing the risk of unauthorized access to confidential data.
- Efficient Management: Instead of individually assigning permissions to each user, administrators can group users based on their roles and responsibilities, simplifying the management process.
To learn how to create custom user groups and assign permissions to user groups, visit our Help Center article.
February 14, 2024
How to Get the Latest Deal Info in Activate with New Resync Button
Users with the "Setup - Resync Record" permission will be able to trigger a resync for a deal. The new resync button resyncs all the assets and events belonging to that deal. This permission is automatically on the default Admin group.
To trigger a resync, click on the ellipses, “…”, in the top right corner when looking at a specific deal. There is a new menu option called "Resync Deal".
Once you you click "Resync Deal", you will receive a confirmation modal. After confirming, the icon next to the ellipses, “…”, will change to an orange resync icon. This indicates that the resync is in progress.
After the resync procedure completes, it will change either to a blue checkmark to indicate success or a red “x” to indicate failure. Hovering over the icon will give you more information.
If it is successful, the hover message will tell you when the last successful sync was. When the icon shows as syncing, hovering over the icon will tell you when the resync was triggered. When the icon shows as failed, the hover message will tell you when the sync failed.
If a red “x” persists after trying to resync, please reach out to your Customer Success Manager as this may be an indication of a configuration issue or a broader issue.
February 22, 2024
New “Event Category” Streamlines How You Update Deals
A new field has been added to Deal Details called “Event Categories”.
Previously, when making a delivery for an event, the dropdown menu would display every event related to the asset. This was inconvenient because long lists made it difficult to locate the specific event for the delivery.
The "Event Categories" field allows users to associate a deal with an event category, which limits the amount of valid events available for the assets within the deal.
- If the deal has an event category, each asset’s delivery event list will only show the events that match both the deal and asset’s event categories.
- If an event category is not added to a deal, then all assets within the deal will show the events that match all of the asset’s event categories.
- If the deal has an event category or a combination of event categories that do not overlap with any of the asset’s event categories, there will be no options in the event drop-down in delivery.
Note: Deal event categories are associated on a per season basis. This means Event Categories can be different from year to year, but it will need to be added to a deal for every season it applies to as well.
The event categories field can be turned on and off using a system configuration toggle.
- Go to System Configurations > Deals > Deal Configuration. If the Relationship is turned ON then the valid events will be filtered as outlined above.
- Toggling it ON will not affect any existing delivery records, it will only adjust the available events to select from.
Three elements should be completed before adding event categories to a deal.
1. Events and Event Categories - Ensure that all the correct events are associated with the correct event categories.
2. Assets - Ensure the assets you want to use in a deal are associated with the correct event categories. Each event category that is associated with an asset means every event in that category could be relevant for the asset in delivery.
3. Event Category - Add the event category to the specific deal you want to update.
Note: All items are season specific, so the relationship between assets, events, and deals can change from year to year.
After setup is complete, whenever an event-based delivery is created, the event drop-down will only show events that match both the deal and asset’s common event categories.